John Lees Solo Discography

John has written many of the best-known songs by Barclay James Harvest, including "Mocking Bird", "After The Day", "Summer Soldier", "Child Of The Universe", "Hymn", "Poor Man's Moody Blues", "Suicide?", "Loving Is Easy" and many more.

Less well-known are the solo recordings which he made in the 1970s - an album recorded for the Harvest label in 1972, but not released until 1977, and a single released on Polydor in 1974, then withdrawn days later!

This section covers only those releases issued under John's own name.


A MAJOR FANCY (LP: Harvest SHSM 2018, July 1977, CD with 3 bonus tracks, Eagle EAGCD 107, 18th October, 1999)

Untitled No.1 - Heritage; Child Of the Universe; Kes (A Major Fancy); Untitled No.2
Sweet Faced Jane; Witburg Night; Long Ships; Untitled No.3

Bonus tracks on the 1999 CD: Please Be With Me; Best Of My Love; You Can't Get It

A Major Fancy original LP sleeveA Major Fancy CD cover

For more details, lyrics etc., see the A Major Fancy Album Portfolio.


09/1974 Best Of My Love/You Can't Get It [Polydor 2058 513]
07/1977 Child Of The Universe (edit)/Kes (A Major Fancy) [Harvest HAR 5132]

n.b. A third song was recorded at the sessions for the "Best Of My Love" single, a cover version of a track which appeared on Eric Clapton's 461 Ocean Boulevard album; the song was "Please Be With Me", written by Charles Scott Boyer, and was finally released on the 1999 Eagle CD issue of A Major Fancy (see above).

Return to Home Page